Flash fiction #7: Unrequited

His countenance changed a bit. It has become more pleasant than the last time we saw each other. He gave me a loose hug that I received casually, in my usual awkward manner. When he started talking to me, his voice sounded like a song from some memorable past. I felt my heart skipped a beat. “My God,” I prayed in my thoughts, trying to maintain my composure, “guard and protect my heart from false hopes, assumptions and speculations. It hurt the last time, and the culprit was this same admirable, unassuming gentleman.”

Leave a Reply

