Magnificat

I may not say Mama Mary’s prayer with the same depth, conviction, reverence and awe, but she’s very loving to let me borrow some words of it to encapsulate my 30th birthday. I have taken them to heart, I feel, through the prayers of St. Pope John Paul II (who has become my favorite saint and patron):

“My soul proclaims the greatness of the Lord; 
my spirit rejoices in God my savior.
The Mighty One has done great things for me,
and holy is his name.
His mercy is from age to age
to those who fear him.
He has shown might with his arm,
dispersed the arrogant of mind and heart.
He has thrown down the rulers from their thrones
but lifted up the lowly.
The hungry he has filled with good things;
the rich he has sent away empty.”
[Luke 1:46-47, 49-53]

Leave a Reply

