Dry Well

Woo me, Beloved.
My heart has hardened,
and my eyes remain dry
even at the sight
of misery, suffering and death.
I have consumed,
yet I am empty.
I know that
this is the kind of heart
You would spurn.
Because it is
a clean one You want –
broken and humbled.
I am wrestling,
grappling with Your angel…
“Give me my blessing!”
This is my silent utterance.
Words are just 
too shallow to describe
my estrangement…
An unspeakable kind
of aridity is forming
at the depths of my soul.
“Why will You not respond?!”
This is my truthful cry…

Then comes the calm…
A downpour has begun.

Leave a Reply

